September 9th 2004: Fairford History Society 1st meeting

The newly formed Fairford History Society met on 9th September to agree a Constitution and elect officers. Over 30 people heard:
Keith Cottam elected as Chairman,
Alison Hobson as Secretary
and Geoff Hawkes as Treasurer.
June Lewis-Jones was unanimously voted in as President
and former Mayor, David Perry as Vice President.
Keith Cottam said that he was pleased with the turn-out for the meeting and membership had now increased to 76 members. “There is enough history in Fairford” he said “to run a University faculty.”

When the official business had been completed, Colin Watkins gave a talk about “How Education came to Fairford”.